Mysteries and Adventures

Mysteries and Adventures

Arthur Conan Doyle


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


These twelve short stories by the creator of Sherlock Holmes range from mystery and crime fiction to strange tales of the supernatural.

First published in 1889 as a collection of Arthur Conan Doyle’s early short fiction featuring tales of crime and trickery, Mysteries and Adventures was later expanded to include stories of ghosts, hauntings, and strange sightings, as well as one of the American West that was originally published anonymously.

This volume features the classic short stories “My Friend the Murderer,” “The Gully of Bluemansdyke,” “The Silver Hatchet,” “The American’s Tale,” and others.


Arthur Conan Doyle:
Arthur Conan Doyle (1859–1930) practiced medicine in the resort town of Southsea, England, and wrote stories while waiting for his patients to arrive. In 1886, he created two of the greatest fictional characters of all time: the detective Sherlock Holmes and his partner, Dr. Watson. Over the course of four novels and fifty-six short stories, Conan Doyle set a standard for crime fiction that has yet to be surpassed.